The Indian Society for Prehistoric and Quaternary Studies (ISPQS) was established in 1977 by members of the erstwhile Indian Prehistoric Society to promote and organize interdisciplinary studies of Prehistory and Quaternary Sciences, and to provide a common platform for archaeologists, geomorphologists, geologists, environmentalists, anthropologists and other scientists.  The Society has more than 500 Life Members spread all over the world.

The Society has three main objectives: (a) Organize an Annual Conference, and also from time to time arrange seminars, workshops, conferences, lectures, and discussion meetings for academic purposes; (b) Undertake a programme of publications of academic and general nature; and (c) Encourage and organize research related to Prehistoric and Quaternary studies.

The Society publishes its Journal Man and Environment and a series of monographs. It works in close cooperation with other such professional organizations to promote excellence in research in Prehistoric and Quaternary studies in particular and archaeology in general.

Office Bearers 2016-2019

  • Chairperson: S.N. Rajaguru Vice-Chairperson: S.B. Ota General Secretary:   P.P. Joglekar
  • Joint Secretary: Shanti Pappu Treasurer: S.G. Deo Assistant Secretary: Veena Mushrif Tripathi

Executive Commitee

  • Kumar Akhilesh S.K. Aruni Abhijit Dandekar K.N. Dikshit T. Jamir
  • Shaunak Kulkarni R.K. Mohanty S. Nambirajan Anil Pokharia Y.S. Rawat
  • R.N. Singh


The Society has instituted three awards:

Professor H.D. Sankalia Young Archaeologist Award Download information about how to compete for the award

Malti Nagar Ethnoarchaeology Award Download information about how to compete for the award

Professor R.K. Sharma Award for Excellence in Archaeology is given to a distinguished archaeologist once in two years, The selection is made by the General Body.  The award is instituted through a generous grant given by Professor R.K. Sharma.

This award has been conferred upon following scholars:

Krishna Deva (2001) B.B. Lal (2003) S.P. Gupta (2005) J.P. Joshi (2007) D.P. Agrawal (2009)

A. Sundara (2011) V.N. Misra (2013) M.L.K. Murty (2015)

Memorial Lecture

The Society organizes Professor H.D. Sankalia Memorial Lecture each year during the annual conference. Following eminent scholars have delivered this lecture:

B.B. Lal (1990) M.N. Deshpande (1991)          K.V. Soundara Rajan (1992) B.P. Sinha (1993) A.K Narain (1996)

F.R. Allchin (1997) J.P. Joshi (1998) S.P. Gupta (1999) D.P. Agrawal (2000) M.K. Dhavalikar (2001)

M.C. Joshi (2002) A. Sundara (2003) K.A.R. Kennedy (2004) Shobhana Ghokale (2006) V.H. Sonawane (2007)

K.S. Saraswat (2008) V.N. Misra (2009) K. Paddayya (2010) S.C. Malik (2012) S.N. Rajaguru (2013)

A.P. Jamkhedkar (2014) G.B. Deglurkar (2015) D.K. Bhattachrya (2017)

Past Office Bearers


R.V. Joshi (1977) M.N. Deshpande (1978-1980) G.R. Sharma (1981-1984) M.N. Deshpande (1985-87) B.B. Lal (1987-89) 

B.P. Sinha (1990-92)      D.P. Agrawal (1993-95)           A. Sundara (1996-1998) V.D. Misra (1999-2001) V.N. Misra (2002-9)

P.K. Thomas (2010-12) P.K. Thomas (2013-14) S.B. Ota (Acting- 2014-16)


M.S. Nagaraja Rao and K.T.M. Hegde (1981-1987) G.C. Mohapatra (1988-1989) V.N. Misra (1990-1992)

S.N. Rajaguru (1993-1995) V.D. Misra (1996-1998)         R.D. Chaudhury (1999-2001)            

R.C. Agrawal (2002-2009)   S.B. Ota (2010-2014)

General Secretary

D.P. Agrawal (1977-1980) V.N. Misra (1981-1989) S.N. Rajaguru (1990-1992) V.N. Misra (1993-2001)

P.K. Thomas (2002-2009) P.P. Joglekar (2010-2016)

Joint General Secretary

 M.L.K. Murty (1985-1988) P.K. Thomas (1996-2001) P.P. Joglekar (2002-2009) Shanti Pappu (2010-2016)


S.N. Rajaguru (1981-1984)   D.P. Agrawal (1985-1987)     P.K. Thomas (1988-1995) V.S. Shinde (1996-1997)

P.P. Dandawate (1998-2001) Arati Deshpande-Mukherjee (2002-2009) S.G. Deo (2010-2016)

Assistant Secretary

M.L.K. Murty (1981-1984) R.K. Ganjoo (1989-1990) P.P. Joglekar (1991-1992) R.K. Mohanty (1993-2001)

P.S. Joshi (2002-06)           S.G. Deo (2006) Reshma Sawant (2010-2012) Sachin Joshi (2013-2016)

The logo of the Society has been designed by Dr. Shriikant Pradhan